NYC TRIP

Hello internet!!

It’s been a little over a month since I last posted anything on here, so I figured now is the time. I made it out of another finals week alive- barely. It’s crazy to think that I only have three more finals weeks ahead of me. Thank goodness!

Now that I finally have some time to breathe, I thought why not write a little something? This blog isn’t the most consistent or organized, but I love looking back on old posts and remembering things I may have forgotten or seeing how my life has changed in such a short time.

I love that this is a place where I can combine two of my favorite things: travel + writing, which brings me to today’s topic! This past week I was able to experience the magic that is New York City at Christmastime!

This was actually my second time getting to see NYC during the Christmas season. The first time was three years ago. My DREAM was to live the Eloise Christmas lifestyle, so off we went for my senior year graduation present. We had such an amazing time that Justin, who is now a senior, decided he wanted to do the same thing. In a sense this was more of “his” trip, and I just luckily got to come along for the ride– no complaints!

This was both mine and my mom’s fourth time visiting the Big Apple, and all four of us have done the main touristy things already (Statue of Liberty, Good Morning America, the 9/11 memorial, etc.) This time we changed it up and did some new things!

  1. The Radio City Rockettes: This performance was incredible! The dancers were so talented and the Radio City Music Hall was an experience in itself. The style of it was so cool and the Christmas decorations immediately put us in the Christmas spirit.
  2. The New York Stock Exchange: Justin wants to major in Finance, so my Dad was able to arrange a tour of the trading floor of the NYSE. I didn’t think I’d be that interested, but it was actually so neat! The man who showed us around was named Billy and had been working on the trading floor since he was 19. He told us all about how technology has changed the game over the last decade and all of the transitions he’s seen over the last 30 years he has worked there.
  1. School of Rock on Broadway: Justin and I literally grew up watching Jack Black in School of Rock the movie. We could quote every single line, and that’s no joke. We were able to see the Broadway version and it did not disappoint. If you’re a fan of the movie and find yourself in NYC, you HAVE TO GO.
  1. Megyn Kelly: My Mom and her broadcasting ways figured out how to get us free tickets to be in the studio audience of Megyn Kelly’s morning show. We got to go to 30 Rock and watch her whole show be recorded. It also just so happened that she was doing a giveaway for Christmas, so all four of us got three prizes (a J.Jill wrap, a bark box- Mom was super excited to give it to Phoebe, and a coffee maker!). We had to buy an extra bag to get it all home.
  2. One World Trade Center: This was the first time I’d been in NYC since the new world trade center had been completed. We visited the observatory, which had a panoramic view of the entire city. It was breathtaking and probably one of my favorite parts of the whole trip!

Other highlights:

  • I found one of my ADPi sistas/besties Haley “Nooga” Lord đŸ™‚ It’s always fun to run into a sis in a big city. OBIC girly

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

  • Grand Central Station: I got to live out my inner Serena Van der Woodsen fantasy and it was awesome. Such a pretty place to stop in!
  • Central Park Carriage Ride: We took a night time carriage ride through Central Park! I’ll admit, I wasn’t that excited for it since it was 35 degrees and at 9:30 pm, but it ended up being super fun and we were a lot warmer than I thought we would be. Punch (the horse) was a sweetie too.
  • The Rockefeller Tree/Ice skaters: This is just a must at Christmastime. Nuf said.

IMG_4127

If you ever get the chance to go to NYC at Christmastime, GO!!! It is a bucket list item for sure. Also, if you read this far, thank you!!!! You’re my favorite.

I hope everyone has a VERY Merry Christmas spent with loved ones!

Til next time (hopefully soon)

BD

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Leave a comment